holly daze

Lately I have been having a hard time getting into the Holiday spirit. I don’t know if it’s just been because work has been so busy, or because I live alone so I don’t have my old roommate around forcing me to listen to Mariah Carey Christmas mix on Pandora. Or maybe it’s because yesterday it was 80 degrees (!) in LA. Either way, starting today I am putting on my ugly Christmas sweater and force-feeding myself some holiday spirit.

Every year, around this time, I find myself spending a lot of time reflecting on what I have learned and accomplished over the last 12 months. This year was huge for me. I experienced a LOT of firsts. First time traveling alone in a foreign country, first time living alone in my own apartment and paying all the bills, first time owning a motorcycle, first time my dad has been cancer-free in 6 years, first time having my designs carried in a nationwide retail store, first time I’ve gotten my first real dream job, first time realizing my parents hearts are actually breakable, first time visiting Texas, first time I’ve had a crush on someone in years

I feel like all these “firsts” have taught me so much about myself and human nature. I have learned people are not invincible. I have learned that nobody is perfect. I have learned that everybody has something that eats at them, and that generally everyone is trying their best to conquer it.

I am obsessed with the idea of starting fresh, which is why I love this time of year so much. We all have the opportunity to identify some new goals and try harder this time around. I would like to wish you all a happy holiday season and a very Merry Christmas. Set some goals for the New Year and make it happen, handle business, and be your best self.

xx

