∆RTI$T + DE$IGNER + ILLU$TR∆TØR

bell-jar-bookI just finished reading Sylvia Plath’s, The Bell Jar, and I can’t believe I’ve waited this long to read it! I have always wanted to write a novel (I actually wrote my first book when I was ten years old haha) and after reading this I feel like Plath already wrote the book I’ve always wanted to write…minus the whole attempted suicide part. Part of me is actually glad I waited until I was in my twenties to read it. I feel like so many people at this age can relate to Esther’s struggle of finding her purpose after a whole lifetime of killing herself in school, only to come out of it with nothing to show but good grades. Her perfect metaphor of the fig tree really struck home for me…if you don’t know what I’m talking about, read the book, you’ll love it. Anyway, in my personal attempt to recreate classic book covers in order to reach the modern book collector as well as the picky reader, I have been reimagining these covers and making art prints out of them! This one is available for purchase here. I hope you like it as much as I do!

xx

 

2 Responses to “THE BELL JAR / REIMAGINED”

  1. elkeeb

    Ive been wanting to read this for a while. I was a big fan of one of her contemporaries growing up, Anne Sexton she was an amazing poet.

    Reply
    • WESLEY BIRD

      her poetry is amazing! i’m a huge fan of hers and this book just solidified it for me. read it when you get a chance, i’m sure you’ll love it :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

